New start and Climax enginespec trouble.

Feedback, questions, updates on current projects, you name it!
ZapperJet

New start and Climax enginespec trouble.

Post by ZapperJet »

Hi all,

I've decided to start anew. I won't be revisiting the Cass #5 or Class C Climax projects or any other previous projects I began as I find the methods I used then outmoded.

As such I've started a new set of locomotives, the first of which being a Class B Climax of 36" gauge:

I'm really happy how the mesh, animations, and especially the textures turned out on this one. I finally have a technique I personally approve of!

I'm running into the stumbling block of making an enginespec, cab, and loads for it as I've never done these before (I've always used DCC). Also, some form of "hack" for an 8 chuff-per-wheel-revolution sound needs to be done. I'm not good with complex scripts either.

Where do I begin?

Cheers,
John
Pencil
Site Admin

Re: New start and Climax enginespec trouble.

Post by Pencil »

Hi John!
Nice to see you again!

The 8-chuff sound is easy - add an invisible bogey and set the animdist to 1/2 that of your drivers, and have that bogey be the one with the direct-drive = 1 tag.
For the enginespec, one starting place might be Bill's spreadsheet at http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthre ... post731780
While this was set up for general rod locos, you might be able to use it as a starting base.
With the tender attached, you'll want to set the config up like a tank loco; basically this just involves including the water and fuel queues in the config.

Hope that helps to start?
Curtis
ZapperJet

Post by ZapperJet »

Hi Curtis,

I've tried using Bill's spreadsheet to formulate an enginespec, but no matter what I try I cannot get the locomotive to build steam past 4 psi. I am using the PB15 interior, I have also referenced the PB15 enginespec to the Climax with no avail, it still sticks at 4 psi. I have added water and coal queues.